REVIEW: Back Piece by L.A. Witt [Skin Deep Inc. #1]

Back Piece (Skin Deep Inc., #1)My first book by L.A Witt was Just Drive which didn’t go too well for me but I decided to take a chance with this one and I’m glad I did.

Daniel and Colin weren’t perfect. They had enough issues between themselves to wreck even the most stable of relationships.

I loved being in Daniel’s head. I especially did in the first half of the story when he still struggling with his sexual inexperience. It just tickled me silly the things that would go on in that head of his about sex. As he would say “Woah” lol.

I also got why he stayed in the closet as long as it did and why he didn’t “just walk away” from his family earlier. Coming out is a deeply personal choice which is especially difficult when you have a family like he did. I supported him throughout the book and was glad he finally found the courage to do so.

Colin was also interesting to read about. His struggles with his metal health endeared him to me and the fact that it wasn’t magically resolved but was something that was to be managed daily made the story more realistic.

One thing I wished there was less of was the process of tattooing . Yes, I KNOW it was a story about a tattoo artist falling in love with a sailor but the amount of page time that the actual process of Colin tattooing Daniel got in the story was too much in my opinion. It would’ve been better if those pages had been used to give more detail about further interaction between the MCs outside of sex and the tattoo place. Don’t get me wrong, the sexy times were great but I just wanted more of the MCs.

All in all, I enjoyed this book and wouldn’t hesitate to pick up the next installment.

*** eARC Graciously Provided by Publisher In Exchange For An Honest, Unbiased Review ***

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

